A smallish field of 60 finishers took part in racing at Aka Aka on Saturday, 3 October. From what I heard it was probably worse standing on the finish line than out on the course. Well done to Michael Carswell, Adam Smith, Dave Rhode, Graham Hoffmann, Robert Trust and Ian Grose who won their respective races. Results attached: Click here

This Saturday, 10 October is the Closing Day of the season. Racing is at Ramarama from 9 am on the Runciman circuit starting and finishing at the Hall. There are still chances to improve your position in the Points Competitions and prize money will be paid out on the day for first and second at least in every grade and in a number of cases up to fourth or even fifth place in addition to placings for women riders and U17 Boys and Girls. Points Competition standing at 3 October attached: Click here


We had two more draws of the Club 50 after the race on Saturday and number 22 held by Steve Pretious and number 100 held by Jim Murphy each won $100. There’s still one more draw for $100 and then all the numbers go back into the draw for the BIG ONE of $1,000 on Closing Day. Thank you to all who have taken numbers this year.

Please get those entries in for the Closing Day this Saturday and bring a plate of food to share for morning tea and the prize giving.

Enjoy the weather, keep the rubber side down...

Kind regards

Your committee












Well done to everyone braving the awful weather.

Results click here

 Sponsored by 

 Challenge Logo

A very good field of 84 riders entered the Club Championships at Ramarama on Saturday. The race was sponsored by Challenge Pukekohe courtesy of Graham Simpson who very generously provided petrol vouchers for all grade winners in addition to the normal race sponsorship – thanks Graham that was much appreciated!

Looks like the races were fiercely contested with a number of sprint finishes amongst the 67 finishers – final results are attached. Congratulations to all CMC riders placing in the first 3 who took home gold, silver and bronze medals. Click for results

Thank you to Jaqueline Martin for photos taken during the day. Click for photos

My thanks go to the small crew of Claire Ohle, Lyle Hastings and Glenn Moser who ran the day.

Mike Giddey,

CMC Club President


Race Sponsored by

Logo HR

Bruce Kent

Bruce Kent

A small field on Saturday enjoyed great riding conditions for the Bruce Kent Memorial Open Handicap Race over 80kms at Karaka. The second group off managed to stay in front and the race and miniature Bruce Kent shield were won by Julian Parkinson from Hamilton. Bruce Kent’s widow Lenore, and other members of her extended family were present and supplied a delicious morning tea.  Glenn Moser won the Social Racing grade race over 32kms. Results of both races are attached. Click for results

Thank you to Haruyo Kobayashi for taking photos of the event.Click for photos

We had two more draws of the Club 50 after the race and #34 held by Shaun Williams and #98 held by Jim Murphy each won $100. Still two more draws for $100 and the big draw for $1,000 left this season. If you’re feeling lucky and want a number contact Mike Giddey on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ..

Mike Giddey


Hi All

Apologies for the delay but at last we have the results of the race at Mauku on 2 August – not all riders have times and we’ve done our best to get positions correct. Remember that late entries on the day didn’t get timing chips and so are only listed at the end of each grade.

Plus we have for you the updated Points Competition results for all open grades and Social Racing grade. Points are only allocated to members and non-members are indicated with an asterisk. To make things a bit more exciting for the remainder of the season the Committee has decided that the race on 3 October at Aka Aka will be a Mass start and not a handicap race and thus eligible for points so you now have 2 races remaining to get points – E grade and Social Racing grade look pretty close still and remember we are paying out first and second places at least as well as first lady in each grade.


Keep safe out there and all the best to Neil Blayney and Joshua Aldridge who are recovering from recent crashes.
Keep training and keep the rubber side down,

Kind regards

Your comittee


CMC - Newsletter subscription

A small field enjoyed excellent racing conditions at Ararimu on Saturday for the Mackie Memorial handicap race for the open grades. The trophy was first awarded in 1950 and Elizabeth Grimmer, grand-daughter of the person after whom the trophy is named was there to watch the race and recount some stories of the old days and present the trophy to Gordon McCauley, second in the race but first Counties rider home. The race was won by only 10 seconds Cameron Fisher who took the money as well as a gift presented by Elizabeth who also generously supplemented the prize money for fastest man and fastest woman. Lynne Fairs won the Social Racing grade race after some adjustments were made to the start times of some riders. 

Results are available here:  Click for results

Mike Giddey


Mike Giddey runs a fundraiser for the Club whereby you buy a number for $50 for the season and you have 10 chances of winning $100 and at the end of the season somebody wins $1,000. We have had three draws to date and Sam Titter-Dower, Graeme Blackwood and Vernon Molloy are all $100 richer. There are still seven draws – you don’t have to be present to win!!

The following numbers are available now 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 17, 24, 28, 30, 32, 33, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 47, 48, 49, 50, 54, 56, 59, 61, 63, 65, 67, 68, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 87, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97. You need to have paid at least $25 before the draw to be eligible to win.

Payment by cash or cheque to Counties Manukau Cycling or direct transfer to 01 0403 0163779 00. Contact Mike Giddey on 534 3183 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Page 2 of 2

Support Our Sponsors - click on logo to visit their site.