The closing day races were sponsored by Mike and Libby Giddey, USANA Health Sciences associates (contact Mike on 09 534 3183 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. if you want further information).

We had 67 finishers on the day out of 78 starters and unfortunately had to disqualify 4 riders in the B grade for crossing the centre line at the finish. Races were won by Ryan Christensen in A grade, Andrew Mitchell and Louise Delaney in B grade, Colin Baird and Millie McNie in C grade and Peter Hunt and Petra Trust in D grade. Trophies were awarded in the Social Racing grade to Martin Hill (Arnie Keith Memorial – first CMC across the line) and Noel Patten (Cleaver Cup – fastest time) and Denise Claxton was first woman home. Race Results

Comments from the race judge on the day:

Most grades rode safely on Saturday with the exception of B grade.  In the final 200m a number of riders sprinted on the wrong side of the road.  The four riders who crossed the line on the wrong side of the road were disqualified.  Riding on the wrong side of the road is not acceptable especially when there was a car travelling straight at them on his correct side of the road.  This is dangerous in the extreme, completely stupid and puts the whole race programme of the club at risk of being cancelled by the Council.

Think about what you are doing.

Points Competitions for each of the Open grades and the Social Racing grade ran throughout the season and at the very well attended prize giving money was distributed to place getters in each grade based on the numbers of riders in the grade. The overall grade winners were: A grade Josh Aldridge, B grade John van der Griend and Madeleine Park, C grade Paul Sharples and Alice Chaplin, D grade Jason Laws and Petra Trust and Social Racing grade Mike Giddey and Denise Claxton who also won trophies. Trophies for Open grade men and women went to Jason Laws and Alice Chaplin who scored the most points in the Open grades. A to D Points & Social Points

At the prize giving I took the opportunity to thank our race sponsors for the year and encouraged members to support them. I also thanked committee members and club members who assisted with racing and other jobs over the season. The AGM is provisionally booked for Tuesday, 15 November at the Manukau Velodrome and we are working to have the 2017 race calendar available by then. Ideas from Club members either at the AGM or at any other time are always welcome.

We had three draws in the Club 50 for $100 and they were won by Bruce Goldsworthy, Michael Brosnahan and Greg Webb and the lucky winner of the $1,000 draw was Sara Cornelius. Thanks to all who participated and with one of the $100 draws being donated back to the club a total of $200 was raised for Club funds.

Have a safe summer all,

Mike Giddey


Support Our Sponsors - click on logo to visit their site.